Menu Button
About Implementation Unit The Agreement Trade Links Contact

Pacific Agreement on Closer Economic Relations (PACER) Plus

Learn More

What is PACER Plus?

The Pacific Agreement on Closer Economic Relations (PACER) Plus is a landmark trade and development agreement that will raise living standards, create jobs and increase exports from Pacific Island countries, while also lowering barriers and providing greater certainty for businesses operating in the Pacific.

Read More

Countries Involved

All Pacific Islands Forum (PIF) members are encouraged to join PACER Plus.

Eight PIF members ratified and have been Party to the Agreement since its entry into force on 13 December 2020: Australia, Cook Islands, Kiribati, New Zealand, Niue, Samoa, Solomon Islands and Tonga.

Three additional members have signed and are yet to ratify: Nauru, Tuvalu and Vanuatu.

PACER Plus Implementation Unit


The PACER Plus Development and Economic Cooperation Work Programme will provide assistance to Pacific PACER Plus members to strengthen their capacity to benefit from regional and international trade and contribute to achieving economic growth and sustainable development.

The PACER Plus Implementation Unit, which will manage and deliver the work programme, is based in Apia, Samoa, and is led by Roy Lagolago. Roy has a background in Pacific trade and customs and was previously head of the Oceania Customs Organisation.

Samoa Outline

PACER Plus Ministers’ Meeting

30th June 2021

The second PACER Plus Ministerial Meeting was held virtually on 30 June 2021 and chaired by the Honourable Tatafu Toma Moeaki, Minister for Trade and Economic Development of the Kingdom of Tonga. This will be the first time PACER Plus Ministers have met since the Agreement's entry into force on 13 December 2020.

The meeting brought together Ministers from the eight ratified Parties to PACER Plus to discuss the regional economic landscape in the face of COVID-19 and how PACER Plus can contribute to the region’s recovery, provide guidance on the timely development and delivery of the PACER Plus Work Programme, and consider regional matters of importance in facilitating trade including labour mobility.

Download Full Text Communique PDF Download Full Text Communique WORD

The Agreement

PACER Plus is a regional development-centred trade agreement designed to support Pacific island countries to become more active partners in, and benefit from, regional and global trade, as well as to provide commercial benefit to Pacific businesses.

The negotiations were concluded in Brisbane on 20 April 2017 by 14 members of the Pacific Islands Forum: Australia, Cook Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Kiribati, Nauru, New Zealand, Niue, Palau, Republic of the Marshall Islands, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Vanuatu, and Tuvalu.

PACER Plus entered into force on 13 December 2020. Eight countries are currently Parties to the Agreement: Australia, Cook Islands, Kiribati, New Zealand, Niue, Samoa, Solomon Islands and Tonga.

PACER Plus covers trade in goods (rules of origin and verification procedures, customs procedures, biosecurity measures, and standards and conformance), trade in services, investment, temporary movement of natural persons, development and economic cooperation, institutional arrangements, transparency, and consultation and dispute settlement. Schedules of commitments cover tariffs, services, investment and movement of natural persons.

Download Full Text PDF Download Full Text WORD

Want more information?